New Job

Hi
Well in my last post I shared that I started a new business. First I want to give you some back ground about how I got here. I was working at a grocery store in Seattle until we had a new contract with our union. It was like putting a bull’s-eye on all of us who were journeyman. Which means $17.50 and hour and another half of that for Sunday’s or holidays.
Long Story short I lost my job and moved back to my home town to live with and help out my mom. At first I thought it was going to be a good time helping my mom who had been a great little cancer survivor. Then I had to start looking for work and then decided to go back to school. It was there that I saw a whole lot of people my age looking to recreate their lives just like me. I have had a few work-study jobs while in college.
But, while I was in college I had an environment science class that was really rocked my boat. I never thought of myself as a science major although when I was a hairstylist I worked with chemicals on a daily basis. But this class really got my attention. Like what our litter looks like on the side of the road. Or what our litter looks like from an airplane out on the oceans. Or what our pollution is doing to our ocean bed or our sea life for that matter. Or the pollution in our mountain streams that we always thought would be clear. As you can see it stirred up a passion in me that has not really gone away.
This new business is environmentally friendly and non toxic and fits right into what I learned in my environmental science class. I guess while I am trying to recreate a new life I also want to do something with my life that will make a difference.

to be continued:

About shortymagee

I am at a stage in my life where I want to write about things that inspire me. One of those things is a recent Introduction to Art Therapy class I took at my college.
This entry was posted in New Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

